Rugby Football Union (RFU)


Rugby Football Union (RFU)
Rules and regulations:


England’s governing body for the sport, the Rugby Football Union (RFU) operates on regional, divisional, national and international levels. Since its foundation in 1871, RFU has been striving to live up to its mission to “be the world leaders through excellence in every aspect of the elite game; and to promote and develop the game within the community so as to encourage optimum participation and enjoyment at every level.”

RFU is a proud founding member of the Six Nations Championship, formerly known as Five Nations, which was founded in 1910 to promote rugby in the international sporting scene.

As fruits of its hard work, RFU has thus far achieved membership of about 2000 clubs, 27 constituent bodies, those from the armed forces, Oxford, and Cambridge universities. RFU also authorizes more than 200,000 games every year, and invests £1.6 million in youth development programs through its affiliate schools numbering to about 3,000. RFU also closed a successful deal with BSkyB, worth £87.5m, to help sustain England’s throne on the international rugby scene.