National Lacrosse League


National Lacrosse League


Rules and regulations:

The National Lacrosse League is the premier professional indoor lacrosse league, with teams in the United States and Canada. Currently the NLL features 11 teams playing in major markets.

The league currently plays a 16 game schedule starting in December and running through April. The Champion’s Cup Playoffs follows. Games are played on the weekends exclusively.

The games are played on a court the size of a hockey rink with the boards and glass installed. Ice is replaced with artificial turf.

Each team is allowed five “runners” (defensemen and forwards) plus a goaltender on the turf while playing the game. The “runners” play in shifts and substitute “on the fly” similar to hockey.

ames consists of four quarters of fifteen minutes each. Tie games are decided by sudden-death overtime periods